Free Trade Agreements

Free Trade Agreements (FTAs) are treaties that make trade and investment between two or more economies easier. New Zealand currently has 12 FTAs that are in force and because of this, our exporters and investors can enjoy a myriad of benefits. Including tariff concessions, preferential access to certain sectors and faster entry into markets. 

With our team of international trade experts, we can assist you by deciphering the various regulations, navigating the ‘noodle bowl’ of origin rules (PSRs) and understanding compliance regimes so you and your business can realise the full benefits of FTA’s. 


AANZFTA is an agreement between ASEAN member states; Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Singapore, Thailand, Viet Nam and the Philippines; and New Zealand and Australia.

Since AANZFTA was implemented in 2010, two-way trade between New Zealand and ASEAN has grown by almost 30% – an increase of more than $6 billion.

For full information about AANZFTA or to apply for AANZFTA CO for New Zealand produced goods to benefit from reduced import duties, click on the link below.

China NZ FTA

In a world-first for any developed country, New Zealand entered into a free trade agreement with China in 2008, and with it came a unique competitive advantage. New Zealand goods exports to China have quadrupled since the free trade agreement was signed and entered into force in 2008. China is now New Zealand’s largest trading partner, with two-way trade valued at over NZ$28 billion in 2018.

The recent upgrade entered into force on 7 April 2022. There are limited new advantages for trade in goods. Find out more about the NZ China FTA , including the recent upgrade, and whether your New Zealand produced exports qualify for reduced import duties, by clicking on the link below.

RCEP Origin FAQs

RCEP enters into force on 1 January 2022 with original parties:

New Zealand, Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, China, Japan, Lao PDR, Singapore, Thailand, Viet Nam and on 1 February 2022 for the Republic of Korea.

Watch as NZ Export Documentation Co-ordinator, Kim Barnett discusses RCEP with NZ Customs representative, Jamie Thompson.

For full information about RCEP and how New Zealand produced goods can benefit from reduced import duties, click on the link below.



CPTPP entered into force on 30 December 2018 after six signatories ratified – Mexico, Japan, Singapore, New Zealand, Australia and Canada. Since then, Vietnam has also ratified CPTPP with the Agreement entering into force for them 60 days later on 14 January 2019.


New Zealand and Australia created a free trade area over 35 years ago, before the European Economic Community became the European Union, and before the agreement setting up the World Trade Organisation. 

ANZCERTA (CER) is recognised as one of the closest, broadest and mutually compatible trading relationships in the world. 

Claiming preferential duty rates for New Zealand produced goods requires the exporter to make a declaration on their commercial invoice.



The Korea-New Zealand Free Trade Agreement (KNZFTA) entered into force in December 2015. Chapter 3 of KNZFTA sets out the Rules of Origin and Operational Procedures. New Zealand exporters may claim preferential duties for their goods under KNZFTA.

Full information, including the agreement, can be found here.

Taiwan (ANZTEC)

ANZTEC is an agreement on Economic Cooperation New Zealand has with the Separate Customs Territory of Taiwan, Penghu, Kinmen and Matsu which was signed in 2013. 

Comprehensive information about ANZTEC, can be found here.

Chapter 3 of ANZTEC sets out the Rules of Origin and Operational Procedures. Read ANNEX 2 listing of PSRs here.



PACER Plus, New Zealand’s first Trade and Development Agreement, entered into force on 13 December 2020. Signed by 11 Pacific Island Forum Countries: Australia, Cook Islands, Kiribati, Nauru, New Zealand, Niue, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu, PACER Plus is expected to boost sustainable economic development and contribute to a more stable and resilient Pacific region.

It supports Pacific Island countries to enhance their trading capacity into regional and global markets, to create jobs and increase incomes. Nauru, Tuvalu and Vanuatu have yet to ratify the agreement.

Free Trade Agreement Certificates of Origin (FTA CO’s)

How to apply for:

NZ China and AANZ FTA COs
As a New Zealand Customs Authorised Certification Body, the Auckland Business Chamber, issues these CO electronically. Data transmits to NZ Customs and for NZ China CO, direct to China Customs

Registered user, please login here.
New users, please email us.

NZ Trade Agreements with Korea, Taiwan and CPTTP
Under these FTA New Zealand exporters make a “self-certification of origin”, either as a declaration of origin, or self-issued CO. It is important exporters make accurate declarations, understand the relevant PSR and liability of their origin declaration for themselves and the importer.

Our Chamber will electronically review and certify self-issued CO or declarations on request for single consignment COs only.

Tariff Resources

What is the duty rate for my goods being exported to these FTA countries?
Which FTA suits me best? (Hint: You can cross-reference your options, here) 

Remember when opting to self-declare or providing a self-issued Certificate of Origin to ensure accuracy and be mindful of the responsibility to maintain records related to the origin of listed goods for the statutory period and the associated liability. 

Speak to our International team today and get the specialist advice you need. 

Benefit from our extensive experience, resources and support.